Awards sponsored by the State Services Commission

Last updated: 22 February 2018

Read about awards sponsored by the State Services Commission.

The State Services Commission sponsors awards to recognise efforts at improving individual managerial capability, leadership development, and organisational development in the State sector. The Commission partners with national professional organisations to administer the application processes and awards ceremonies.

Applications are submitted to the partner organisation and judged, in part, by representatives from the State Services Commission, Each award has its own unique application date which is determined by the partner organisation. More information on the details of each award including the purpose, criteria, past winners, and application or nomination dates is available in the Resources section below.

Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018

The Awards celebrate outstanding performances and significant achievements of organisations and project teams in the New Zealand Public sector, showcasing the significant contribution the wider public sector makes in meeting the news of New Zealand and New Zealanders. They recognise and promote excellence in terms of vision, innovation and results, and encourage continuous improvement.

Categories for the Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018 are:

  • Building Trust and Confidence in Government
  • Crown-Māori Relationships
  • Improving Public Value through Business Transformation
  • Digital Government
  • Achieving Collective Impact
  • Improving Performance through Leadership Excellence
  • Public Sector Engagement
  • Excellence in Regulatory Systems
  • Improving Diversity and Inclusiveness within the Public Sector
  • Young Professional of the Year

The Prime Minister's Award for Public Sector Excellence will be presented to one of the category winners (excluding the Young Professional of the Year). This award recognises outstanding achievement and a sustained commitment to excellence.

See the IPANZ website for information about these annual awards and the past winners

Ria McBride Public Service Management Award

The Ria McBride Public Service Management Award is made by the State Services Commission in conjunction with the New Horizons for Women Trust. The criteria for the Award, and past winners, is published on our website at Further information is available on the New Horizons for Women Trust website.