For a quick reference chart of this web page, print/download this version (PDF, 584 KB) (Updated 18 September 2019 and current.)
CarolynTremain resized 0

Ms Carolyn Tremain

Chief Executive

Business, Innovation, and Employment, Ministry of / Hīkina Whakatutuki

Appointed on July 2017

Lou Sanson Conservation

Mr Lou Sanson

Chief Executive and Director-General of Conservation

Conservation, Department of / Te Papa Atawha

Appointed on September 2013

Christine Stevenson resized

Ms Christine Stevenson

Acting Chief Executive

Corrections, Department of / Ara Poutama Aotearoa

Appointed on February 2019

Una Jagose 73x97

Ms Una Jagose QC


Crown Law Office / Te Tari Ture o te Karauna

Appointed on February 2016

Bernadette Cavanagh s

Ms Bernadette Cavanagh

Chief Executive

Culture and Heritage, Ministry for / Te Manatū Taonga

Appointed on February 2019

Andrew Bridgman CE List pic

Mr Andrew Bridgman

Chief Executive and Secretary of Defence

Defence, Ministry of / Manatū Kaupapa Waonga

Appointed on July 2019

Nicholas Pole resized 1 v2

Mr Nicholas Pole

Chief Executive and Chief Review Officer

Education Review Office / Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga

Appointed on June 2017

iona holsted sized

Ms Iona Holsted

Chief Executive and Secretary for Education

Education, Ministry of / Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga

Appointed on December 2016

vicky robertson

Ms Vicky Robertson

Chief Executive and Secretary for the Environment

Environment, Ministry for the / Manatū Mō Te Taiao

Appointed on June 2015

Chris Seed s

Mr Chris Seed

Chief Executive and Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Foreign Affairs and Trade, Ministry of / Manatū Aorere

Appointed on February 2019

Andrew Hampton

Mr Andrew Hampton


Government Communications Security Bureau / Te Tira Tiaki

Appointed on April 2016

Naomi Ferguson IRD July12 1

Ms Naomi Ferguson

Chief Executive and Commissioner of Inland Revenue

Inland Revenue Department / Te Tari Taake

Appointed on July 2012

Dr Ashley Bloomfield 2 web sized

Dr Ashley Bloomfield

Chief Executive and Director-General of Health

Health, Ministry of / Manatū Hauora

Appointed on February 2018

Paul James 0

Mr Paul James

Chief Executive and Secretary for Internal Affairs

Internal Affairs, Department of / Te Tari Taiwhenua

Appointed on October 2018

Andrew Kibblewhite June12 web 1

Mr Andrew Kibblewhite

Chief Executive

Justice, Ministry of / Tahu o te turi

Appointed on February 2019

Gaye SSC

Ms Gaye Searancke

Chief Executive

Land Information New Zealand / Toitū Te Whenua

Appointed on August 2019

Mr Dave Samuels

Mr Dave Samuels

Chief Executive

Māori Development, Ministry of / Te Puni Kōkiri

Appointed on September 2019

Andrew Ch 0 1

Mr Andrew Crisp

Chief Executive

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

Appointed on August 2018

bill perry s

Mr Bill Perry

Acting Comptroller of Customs

New Zealand Customs Service / Te Mana Ārai o Aotearoa

Appointed on February 2019

Sized75x100 Rebecca Kitteridge 90917 0136

Ms Rebecca Kitteridge CVO

Chief Executive and Director-General of Security

New Zealand Security Intelligence Service / Te Pā Whakamarumaru

Appointed on May 2014

lil anderson CE Photo 2019

Ms Lil Anderson

Acting Chief Executive

Office for Māori Crown Relations – Te Arawhiti

Appointed on January 2019

Grainne Moss 1

Mrs Gráinne Moss

Chief Executive

Oranga Tamariki, Ministry for Children

Appointed on September 2016

Mac Leauanae resized

Laulu Mac Leauanae

Chief Executive

Pacific Peoples, Ministry for / Te Manatū mō Ngā iwi o Te moana-nui-a-Kiwa

Appointed on July 2017


Mr Ray Smith

Chief Executive and Director-General for Primary Industries

Primary Industries, Ministry for / Manatū Ahu Matua

Appointed on November 2018

Brook Barrington

Mr Brook Barrington

Chief Executive

Prime Minister and Cabinet, Department of the / Te Tari o te Pirimia mo te Komiti Matua

Appointed on February 2019

Julie Read cropped

Ms Julie Read

Chief Executive and Director

Serious Fraud Office / Te Tari Hara Taware

Appointed on October 2013

Debbie Power 2018 07 18 MT 0213

Ms Debbie Power

Chief Executive

Social Development, Ministry of / Te Manatū Whakahiato Ora

Appointed on February 2019

a Dorothy Adams 2016 web

Ms Dorothy Adams

Chief Executive

Social Investment Agency / Oranga Tangata

Appointed on December 2018

Peter Hughes

Mr Peter Hughes CNZM

State Services Commissioner and Head of State Services and Chief Executive

State Services Commission / Te Komihana O Ngā Tari Kāwanatanga

Appointed on July 2016

Liz MacPherson Bio Pic 2017 resized 1

Ms Liz MacPherson

Chief Executive and Government Statistician

Statistics New Zealand / Te Tari Tatau

Appointed on August 2013

David Gawn 2 web resized

Mr David Gawn MBE

Chief Executive

Te Kāhui Whakamana Rua Tekau mā Iwa—Pike River Recovery Agency

Appointed on January 2018

peter mersi sept12 1

Mr Peter Mersi

Chief Executive and Secretary for Transport

Transport, Ministry of / Te Manatū Waka

Appointed on July 2016

Dr Caralee McLiesh

Ms Caralee McLiesh

Secretary to the Treasury

Treasury, the / Te Tai Ōhanga

Appointed on September 2019

Renee Graham

Ms Renee Graham

Chief Executive

Women, Ministry for / Minitatanga mō ngā Wāhine

Appointed on June 2017

Last modified: