Download PDF version (1 MB)

View all in one page

Public sector agencies

At present the New Zealand public sector consists of around 2,600 organisations. They include a wide range of agencies – 29 Public Service departments,

20 District Health Boards, 26 tertiary education institutions, 67 Territorial Local Authorities, 16 Regional Councils, 17 state-owned enterprises and mixed ownership companies, approximately 2,435 school boards of trustees, 76 other Crown entities and around 200 Crown entity subsidiaries.

Traditionally, agencies in the State sector have operated autonomously in making decisions on functional business areas. As part of Better Public Services reform, changes are being made to provide for stronger system-wide leadership across agencies to achieve results for the people of New Zealand.

Last modified: